What should I know about domestic violence?

Authored By: GeorgiaLegalAid.org
Read this in: Spanish / Español

Domestic violence

Domestic violence laws in Georgia

Contents


What is domestic violence?

Domestic violence can be broadly defined as abuse that occurs between family members or unmarried partners. It is also known as family violence. It involves one person in the relationship using abuse to intimidate and control the other person. 

Domestic violence as defined in Georgia law occurs between: 

  • past or present spouses, 
  • persons who are parents of the same child, 
  • parents and children, 
  • stepparents and stepchildren, 
  • foster parents and foster children, or 
  • other persons living or formerly living in the same household.

Reasonable discipline of children is not considered family violence.

The abuse may be:

  • Physical
  • Emotional
  • Psychological
  • Sexual
  • Economic

The legal definition of domestic violence covers physical abuse like:

  • hitting, 
  • shoving, 
  • choking/strangulation, 
  • restraining, 
  • threats of violence, 
  • sexual assault, 
  • child cruelty, 
  • stalking, and 
  • many other state crimes to person or property. 

Back to top


What is emotional and psychological abuse?

Here are examples of emotional and psychological abuse:

  • Threats of physical violence
  • Humiliation and intimidation
  • Insults
  • Blaming for everything
  • Isolations - Actively creating emotional, psychological, and physical distance from family and friends

Back to top


What is stalking?

Stalking and cyberstalking are activities that put the victim in reasonable fear. These activities are also recognized as forms of domestic violence.

Stalking is a pattern of behavior that causes a reasonable person to fear for their safety or the safety of their family. The law defines stalking as following, placing under surveillance, or contacting another person without their consent and causing them emotional distress.

Back to top


What can a Protective Order do?

A Protective Order requires the person who abused or stalked you not to abuse, stalk, contact you, or come within a certain distance of where you are, including work and school. It can require the person to leave your home. It can also give you custody of your children, child support, temporary use of property and many other things.  A protective order normally lasts 12 months. 

Can the Protective Order last longer than 12 months?

Yes. If you file a Motion before your Protective Order ends, the Court, after a hearing with you and the person who abused or stalked you, may give you a Three Year or Permanent Order.

Back to top

Contents


What can I do if I am being abused?

The first thing you should do is make a safety plan. This is a plan to help you prepare to get out of an abusive relationship and stay safe. The National Domestic Violence Hotline Path to Safety can help you formulate a plan.

Back to top


What can I do legally if I am being abused or stalked?

In Superior Court, you can apply for a Protective Order. In Magistrate Court, you can apply for a criminal warrant or a good behavior bond. You can also call the police, 911 for any urgent threat of harm.

Back to top


How do I apply for a Protective Order?

You have to fill out a petition stating what happened and what you want the court to do about what happened.

  • You can get the petition online, in the Clerk's Office or from the "Forms and Tools" tab of this website.
  • If you need help filling out the petition, someone in the clerk's office, a domestic violence shelter advocate, or victim/witness advocate should be able to help you. 

You then file the petition in the Clerk's Office of the Superior Court in the county where the person who abused or stalked you lives.

  • After you file the petition, you will see a judge who may give you an immediate Temporary or “Ex Parte” Protective Order and schedule a follow up hearing.
  • The hearing will take place within 30 days of the date that you filed your petition.
  • At the hearing both you and the person who abused or stalked you will tell the judge, and answer questions about what happened.
  • After the judge hears from both of you, the judge will decide whether to give you a Temporary Protective Order for up to 12 months.
What happens if the person who abused or stalked me does not obey the Order?

Call the police if it feels safe to do so. The person can be held in contempt of court. They can also be arrested and charged with a misdemeanor or felony.

Back to top

More info

Forms

Resources

Brochures

  • Read our Self-Help manual for victims of family violence.
  • Read our brochure on how to get a temporary protective order.  
  • Read our brochure to learn about how to create an economic safety plan if you are a victim of family violence.
  • If you need help assessing how at risk you are for violence, read the Nashville Police Department’s document
  • View Greater Boston Legal Services’ document that explores the myths and realities behind changing identities for survivors of domestic violence. 
  • Read the American Bar Association’s brochure on domestic violence and safety for your children. 

Media

  • Watch our video about the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) to learn about how it protects victims of domestic violence who live in federally subsidized or public housing.
  • Watch our video on teen dating violence.
Last Review and Update: Jan 06, 2020
Was this information helpful?
Back to top