GeorgiaLegalAid.orgGeorgia

Paid Leave During Covid-19

Authored By: Atlanta Legal Aid Society, Inc.
Contents

Video

Transcript

The Families First Coronavirus Response Act requires some employers to give their employees paid sick leave for reasons related to COVID-19.

 

Your employer must provide paid leave if you work for:

- A private company with fewer than 500 employees.

- A government agency.

 

If the law applies to your employer, they must give you:

Two weeks of paid sick leave at your regular salary, up to $511/day if you cannot work because:

-You have been officially quarantined, or

-You have COVID-19 symptoms and are waiting on a diagnosis. 

 

Two weeks of paid sick leave at ⅔ of your regular salary, up to $200/day if you cannot work because:

- You are caring for someone who is officially quarantined

- You are caring for a child who is out of school or child care because of COVID-19, or

- You are experiencing a similar condition

 

Some employers must also give up to an additional 10 weeks of paid leave at ⅔ of your regular salary up to $200/day if:

You have worked for the employer for at least 30 days AND

You cannot work because your child’s school or child care is closed because of COVID-19.

 

Learn more at GeorgiaLegalAid.org

Last Review and Update: Jun 23, 2020